Skip to content

Focus

July 26, 2016

DSC04999

There are things that are in the world that draw your attention over and over.  I was usually alone with my camera so I started recording my feet wherever I went.  Now cameras have times and there are selfie sticks but back then the only way I could get into the photo, being the only one around, was to take my feet.   I also have a series of fences.  I am drawn to living birds and living plants.  I am drawn to the scenery that surrounds me.

I have always been drawn to the night sky.  Almost a year ago I did blog on the moon.  Yet here I am, back with the same image – yet different.  The same moon but from different days, seasons and places in the sky. The camera can focus closer.

DSC05019

The camera can focus farther away.

DSC05020

Topics and ideas can have the same effect and keep drawing you back to certain things.  What keeps drawing your attention?  Do you consciously know why something grabs you and holds onto you?  How do you focus and go closer and how do you stand back and see the larger picture?  I have always been fascinated by the earth and things that grow.  Where I live now there are critters of all kinds.  Yet where I lived before, we couldn’t attract the birds or grow things well. Sometimes what you want to focus on, doesn’t respond back in kind.

We can be drawn to things and not know why.  We can have thing physically in our lives as well as emotionally and spiritually that capture our attention and won’t let us go.  Although we need to focus on images and ideas, there are times we need to let them go – even for a short while – so we can be renewed and ready to take up the fight or focus the next day.

My husband and I sometimes just end the day before going to bed by sitting on the deck and just breathing in the beauty of the night sky.  All of us need to plan how to work with people, how to work with issues and how to survive the barrage of email in this election cycle.  There are times we feel overwhelmed by it all.

My “letting go” of things are often accomplished when I “let go” to God’s presence and power.  When I was a camper in elementary school, I remember singing Psalm 8 around the campfire to the turn Streets of Laredo. I still love Psalm 8.  The following is from the Contemporary English Version.

The Wonderful Name of the Lord

Our Lord and Ruler, your name is wonderful everywhere on earth! You let your glory be seen in the heavens above. With praises from children and from tiny infants, you have built a fortress. It makes your enemies silent, and all who turn against you are left speechless.

I often think of the heavens your hands have made, and of the moon and stars you put in place. Then I ask, “Why do you care about us humans? Why are you concerned for us weaklings?” You made us a little lower than you yourself, and you have crowned us with glory and honor.

You let us rule everything your hands have made. And you put all of it under our power—the sheep and the cattle, and every wild animal, the birds in the sky, the fish in the sea, and all ocean creatures.

Our Lord and Ruler, your name is wonderful everywhere on earth!

I read here about the moon and stars which help me see in perspective our place in the universe.  We are at the same time small and insignificant as well as being in charge and important.  For me, God has made the world and as it says “Lets us rule”.  We are not to destroy our world but to help the one who created it keep things growing and going.

I ask myself “What have I done to help things grow today?  (these things I will keep doing) What have I done today that has brought a cycle of destruction? (these things I will cease doing – or try to ) ”  Look at the moon tonight if you can.  Take a deep breath and ponder what you are doing so that generations will be able to do the same thing – take a deep breath outside and see the wonders of the world?

2 Comments
  1. That’s a cool photo. I know Cindy. I am interested in photography and trying to improve mine. I blog about it often.
    Congratulations on bein Danny’s featured blogger! I was his featured blogger too.Maybe you can check out my site If you need a blogging tip or two. That’s when I write about.
    Janice

    Like

Leave a Reply

