Skip to content

The answer is blowin in the wind

July 20, 2016

I love owls. I have for a long time. I love the wind. We have had so many wind chimes. Some got so tangled I had to spend time untangling them much like some jewelry I have had. We have had the wind blow ceramic chimes apart. We have had metal chimes rust. We have some new things blowing in the wind. It helps us know the direction and strength of the wind.

I have seen the Ozark weather rock which is reported to forecast the weather. Some of the saying about this rock on a string from Wikipedia are:

  •     If the rock is wet, it’s raining.
  •     If the rock is swinging, the wind is blowing.
  •     If the rock casts a shadow, the sun is shining.
  •     If the rock does not cast a shadow and is not wet, the sky is cloudy.
  •     If the rock is not visible, it is foggy.
  •     If the rock is white, it is snowing.
  •     If the rock is coated with ice, there is a frost.
  •     If the ice is thick, it’s a heavy frost.
  •     If the rock is bouncing, there is an earthquake.
  •     If the rock is under water, there is a flood.
  •     If the rock is warm, it is sunny.
  •     If the rock is missing, there was a tornado.
  •     If the rock is wet and swinging violently, there is a hurricane.
  •     If the rock has white splats on it, watch out for birds.

There is much talk about Climate change. This is a different way of putting Global warming. Some people say that the evidence has been around since before the 1970’s. There are some that dispute it is true even today. In the 1960’s and 1970’s I taught myself to play the guitar. One of my favorites was written in 1962 by Bob Dylan. That song is Blowin in the wind.  

Looking in Wikipedia to find the date of the song I also saw: Although it has been described as a protest song, it poses a series of rhetorical questions about peace, war and freedom. The refrain “The answer, my friend, is blowin’ in the wind” has been described as “impenetrably ambiguous: either the answer is so obvious it is right in your face, or the answer is as intangible as the wind”.

For some people the answer to climate change is obvious. For others it is ambiguous. I love my grandchildren. I love my children. All of my “kids” are adults but each one in turn came back from college and demanded lifestyle changes in our home because of their fear that if we didn’t they would at some time not have a planet to live on.  
We all need to educate ourselves about changes we can make in our lives that can make differences in the world. Some people make sure they buy as much locally as they can. Some people take to growing more of their own food. Some people make sure that the things they buy are “Fair Trade” so that the people making and growing things can have a fair wage in their own country.  

I love children’s books. When I was a pastor I used many children’s books in my children’s times. Even today as I am a guest preacher adults say they have gotten more memorable ideas from my children’s times rather than the adult sermon. I believe because children’s times contain concrete ideas and things that “stick” in our minds to remember.  
One site had 42 quotes of Dr. Seuss that can change the world. Another had 30 Dr. Seuss quotes that can change your life. As an adult, I commend to you Dr. Seuss. Take him seriously and listen with your heart. What is it in simple concreate ways that you can make a difference? Dr. Seuss “To the world you may be one person; but to one person you may be the world.” You can make a difference. If you have never read “The Lorax” or seen the movie, please do so. You will then understand this quote : “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, Nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

