Skip to content

Crossing bridges

June 30, 2016

DSC03925

I remember being a Brownie Scout and having a “flying up” ceremony.  My mom, our leader, brought from the nursery at church a fun thing – it was a rocking boat and if you turned it over it became a bridge.  We used this for our bridging ceremony of moving from one level to another. I was proud to cross the bridge to a new place in Scouting.

There are many times in our lives we cross bridges: graduating from high school, graduating from college, graduating from graduate school, getting married, having kids, moving and lots of other things. We even talk about having burned our bridges by actions we took or others took in our lives.

My husband and I are in a Climate Change group that meets monthly at the Baraboo United Methodist Church.  We look at issues in the world and what we can do about it.  What is scary is that we may have already burned a lot of bridges in our world.  We know about bee populations decreasing.  We know that even the lowly fireflies are diminishing on this earth.  Well if we don’t have bees we won’t eat.  If we don’t have fireflies is that a big deal?

I think the bigger question is: Do we know what is a big deal?  Have we crossed bridges which will lead to our own extinction?  The earth will survive eventually.  The question is will we survive?

http://e360.yale.edu/author/Bill_McKibben/2/ is a website of Bill McKibben who has done lots of work on climate change.  Our kids in college years ago told us long ago that global warming didn’t mean it would just get hotter but that the weather would become more violent and unpredictable.  Watch the news each night and you know it is happening.  The earth’s climate includes: oceans, wind, the biosphere, upper and lower atmosphere, solar effects, glaciers, clouds, evaporation and effects societies, food sources and where people can live on the planet.  It is very complex.  We need to learn things as individuals and as society.

Bill McKibben has been preaching 360 as a number but there is also a website 350.org that says we really need to be lower: “If humanity wishes to preserve a planet similar to that on which civilization developed and to which life on Earth is adapted, paleoclimate evidence and ongoing climate change suggest that CO2 will need to be reduced from [current levels] to at most 350 ppm.”   Dr. James Hansen

I love nature.  I love my kids and grandkids.  I may not see all that scientist see but I believe that I need to be active in doing what I can to save the planet for the future.  Some bridges I am willing to cross.  I am not willing to cross that bridge that destroys the planet I live on.

 

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

