Skip to content

How are you traveling?

April 19, 2016

Most often people ask “Where are you going?”  That is a important to know – if you don’t know where you are going, you won’t know when you get there.  Yet maybe the best question is “How are you traveling?”

DSC07089

Today is a rainy day.  I just happened to listen yesterday to The Carpenters “Rainy days and Mondays always get me down”.  Actually rainy days don’t get me down.  I love them.  I can curl up with a book or two.  I can feel good with staying inside and working on my projects without feeling drawn outside or feeling guilty about staying in.  Mondays never have gotten me down for Mondays have been the jumping off point to put my energy in for the week.

The song made me think about what makes us feel up and what makes us feel down.  I have often found that it is within myself that I find the UP and the DOWN as I travel.  I find that there are those that I travel with that help me feel UP or drag me DOWN.  For me the better question is not Where but How I travel.  HOW we travel in some ways is more important than WHERE we travel.  If we are not traveling in healthy ways, we will be a mess when we get to the end of the day and journey.

We don’t know when we get up what the day will bring.  We have to be open for those things that break into our life that we can take advantage of.  We have to have plans but be ready to change them.  I have always had a framework of a calendar and plans.  I have always had a door and a phone that made those plans change.

I heard the phrase the other day “The tyranny of the urgent”.  It is sort of like “The squeaky wheel gets the grease.”  If we are mindful of HOW we are traveling, we won’t let other people’s crisis or urgencies affect us unless we want to be part of that journey to help or to have it help us.  If there are interruptions , pause and think , “Is this how I want to travel at this moment in time for this issue?”.  If the answer is NO, then walk away.  If it is YES, then join in.

Evaluate at the end of the day HOW you traveled.  Did things work out as you planned?  Did things become awkward?  Sometimes things are a one time event yet we see patterns in how we react to life.  HOW we travel makes a difference.  Make a difference in your life and in others by traveling in a mindful and meaningful way.

 

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

