Skip to content

Good Friday

March 25, 2016

I have been doing a photo a day during the 40 days of Lent through the words from Alive Now Magazine.  I did the days of Advent as well.  I now find myself facing “wilderness” time without any words to guide me until Advent again.  I love to do centering prayer and meditation using my camera.  It is great to know others out there are also searching for images that parallel so that one can see the world through their eyes and learn from them as well.

DSC01590

This was my image today.  I loved stained glass and how through the glass we can see the world. it illumines our view.  There are 3 different images of crosses that hang in my bay window in my craft room – Cross with points (representing nails), Celtic, and United Methodist.  We look through many traditions and images this Good Friday.  Some have helped people focus on a path and journey toward God. Sometimes their encounters with “good Christian” people have forced them out of the church.

We look at the cross today  and wonder where our journey lies ahead in the wilderness as we see the news problems in the world.  My understanding of the Jewish tradition of Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) , is that a priest put the sins of the people on a goat and the sins were carried  into the wilderness.  It worked while the people were traveling in the wilderness but when they were in the city of Jerusalem sometimes the goats wandered back into town.  In seminary, we were asked “Where is the wilderness today?  What sins have we thought we got rid of and are wandering back into town?”

IMG_0395

We all agreed it was probably the urban areas where there were concentration of the poor and disenfranchised.  This image is of Chicago at night.  The dark in the middle is the Chicago  river and on the far side the street is both upper and lower Wacker.  It is beautiful in many ways but what is hidden are all the homeless and troubled people that live on lower Wacker.  We can’t say “That is your mess.”  It is OUR world and OUR mess.  What has happens in Chicago, in Brussels and Paris and the Middle East and with the refugees is OUR problem.  It is OUR sisters and brothers in pain and crisis.

I live in rural Wisconsin and all that seems so far away from me when the traffic jams are waiting for the turkeys and deer to cross the road.  No matter where I travel, my eyes see wonderful views of trees and hills.   People think of big cities as having problems.  My husband went to a meeting and learned that in our “rural” area heroin use is on the rise and so are the deaths and both are epidemic.  The age range of the people using and dying are 25-45.

On this Good Friday I stand at the foot of the cross and ask what I need to do as I follow Christ into a hurting world.  Where can I make a difference?  How can I make a difference?  What actions and words can I use that will be helpful and not hurtful?  No matter if Good Friday is important to you or not, meditate on your life and journey and how you can make a difference.

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

