Skip to content

Loving just part or growing to love the whole

February 15, 2016

IMG_0108.JPG

When I was younger you had choices in your vinyl records of 78, 45, and 33 1/3.  The 45 were singles and the 33 13 were LP – Long play – albums.  I would buy the album for a certain song I really liked and along the way I discovered I really liked most of the album better that the 1 song I choose it for.

Then along comes ITunes.  You can get 1 song from an album very easily.  I noticed that I still would get the whole album even it was just 1 song that I really liked.  I reasoned that my habit would stay the same in that I would learn to love most of the album as I listened to it.  I have noticed others just getting 1 song from iTunes of any given album.  When passes through my thoughts is “You are missing out on discovering some wonderful other songs!”

We live in an age where you can pick and choose – the songs you hear,  your news you listen to or whatever.  You can stay in a small focus of belief, worldview etc and never be challenged to see, to hear or to be confronted by other things.  How do we grow?  How do we reach out beyond ourselves with learning and experiences?  How do we even know what is out there if we don’t try and find out?  I know that there have been times in my life when I cling to the “ordinary” or the “familiar”.  They have been times of turmoil that reaching out or change just wasn’t possible. That is ok.  There are times of healing when reaching out is either too painful or risky.  I look for things that both confirm and challenge me.

My latest interest has been with Celtic Thunder and Celtic Women.  I did get the “whole” album and like always I have found new favorites past the 1 or 2 songs I loved.  My mother always asked me to look at the other side of every issue I was fussing about.  Soooo what is the advantage of only getting 1 song?  It is cheaper.  You can always go back to ITunes and look at other things and try them out one by one.  By only getting 1 song you can get a variety of many different things.

I don’t know why but every time I go to ITunes I have this battle inside of me.  I am not sure why it is nagging me.  Often things bother me when it comes to a growing edge of mine or some insight that will become clearer later on.  At least I am not scratching, getting ruts, or warping my favorite records that I played over and over and over.  Whichever way you receive your music, enjoy and grow.

 

One Comment
  1. beautiful reflection
    without interference
    from scratches 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

