Skip to content

Life lessons I learned from snow

February 3, 2016

Today we cleaned the steep driveway from the snow. I thought about life lessons as we were working. The task is done. We are resting. I am thinking about how seeing and working with snow leads to lessons I have and need to learn in life.

1. It is a forecast after all. Forecasts are like goals or New Years resolutions – they point the way but may change. We were forecast to have much more snow. What we got was less but it was heavy and wet and was very slippery out. When I was young I was asked: “What will you be when you grow up?” That is a forecast that point you to schooling and experiences when you are young, when you are in schooling. When I was retiring I was asking the same question: What will I be when I grow up into retirement? Sometimes what you think you can do doesn’t pan out and what you are able to do surprises you. Be open to new adventures. Be aware life can change.
2. “Slow and steady, steady and slow, that’s the way we always go”. There is a Disney series of books with one being “Goofy’s Big Race”. It is a take on the Aesop’s Fable “The Tortoise and the Hare”. When the snow was predicted we changed our theater tickets and changed all plans just to sit and watch the wonder of the snow coming down. That was really cool and an option. I remember when working I would push through no matter what – Type A and Perfectionist. The problem of being retired is that you don’t have the physical prowess (if I ever had it) and it is slow and steady and taking breaks. We have a gift of a plaque with a quote Whinny the Pooh “I think I shall begin with a smallish nap or two”. It isn’t procrastination. It is learning to have realistic goals and change them to pace yourself to allow time to live and enjoy the journey each day. I wish I had learned this earlier.
3. What does it matter in the long and the short run? We know that in the summer the snow won’t be there but the snow needs to be cleared so tomorrow we can use the driveway. How we work is as important as what we are doing. One needs to work smarter – not harder. My husband had rotary cuff surgery so we needed a snow blower I could operate. The night before the storm I work up at 3 in the morning thinking about different paths I could use to clean the driveway. I guess I woke him up and he just laughed at my planning. It didn’t work but I had options I had thought about and together we got the job done. One needs to balance present needs and long term needs. Make your decision the best you can for the short and long term and go with it with all your heart. Then follow the advice from the movie Frozen “Let it Go, let it go”. We can plan for the long and short run but we must be aware of things that need to change as we go.

DSC01100-001

 

5 Comments
  1. Alice permalink

    You’ve got some ice going on. Snow–teaches mellowness.

    Like

    • Falling snow is mellow. Shoveling is hard work with any depth. Light fluffy small amounts are fun to brush away and has a mellow playful quality

      Like

      • Alice permalink

        Indeed. I have a backache from two days ago, and only shoveled crooked goat paths down the sidewalks. Need to finish.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. One thing for sure, the more flexible we are, the more we can accept life’s changes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A willow will bend in the breeze while others will break and bust

    Like

Leave a Reply

