Skip to content

Self-compassion

January 31, 2016

DSC00987

In the winter we always feed the birds. I as taught to be kind to the animals, the earth and other people. What is hardest is to be kind to oneself. I saw this quote this week and it lead me on some deep thinking.

Unlike self-criticism which asks if you’re good enough, self-compassion asks “What’s good for you?” Kristin Neff

I discovered a bunch of books that Kristin Neff has written, one being: “Self-compassion: the proven power of being kind to yourself”. I am thinking of reading that one as well as others. My mind wandered to another book: “Meditations for women who do too much” by Anne Wilson Schaef. I had this book in the early 1990’s and have read its daily devotions for many years. It was surprising that my daughter gave me that book at Christmas. It made me think: 1- I am now retired so what does that say about the schedule I still keep 2- she is the professional counselor so how have I not learned or been an example or can she see that I need to still grow?

I started reading the book again – not to read but to let it soak into my psyche and see what changes I can do so that I can live in self-compassion rather than self-criticism. Often we are our own harshest critics. I see life as more of a spiral spinning outward and that we touch the same issues from time to time just at a different point in our lives. As a “Type A” personality and perfectionist, I know I push myself sometimes to the detriment and sometimes to the positive. Hopefully the focus of self-compassion will help me. Hopefully the focus will also be a light to others.

2 Comments
  1. Your post is a great reminder that we too count. I like your line about seeing life as a spiral spinning outward and that we touch the same issues from time to time at different points in our lives. It reminds me of the saying that if you don’t learn the lesson the universe will keep repeating it to you until you do.:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sometimes I think I’ve learned something only to find out there are aspects I still need to learn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

