Skip to content

What do you see? What do you see in the clouds?

June 20, 2015

DSC06673IMG_1150

When I was a child, I loved looking at the clouds.  The other day, I saw in the clouds our little dog sleeping on his back  I saw the paws up in the air.  Soon the clouds were drifting along and then changed.

DSC06675

I love looking at clouds.  I remember looking up just walking or driving and trying to see images in the clouds.  It is fund to get everyone around you doing the same thing and see how they see the world.    It reminded me of the comic strip Peanuts.

If you Google “peanuts, charlie brown, clouds”, you will find the cartoon of them laying down on the ground and looking up.  Linus comes up with great images and in the end Charlie Brown said he would have said he saw a ducky and a horse.  In the musical “Snoopy, the Musical” again there is a song in Act 1 which is called Clouds.  There is even more elaborate seeing of images in the clouds.  .  You can go to YouTube to hear and see.

Why is looking at clouds important?  There is the saying “Think outside of the box.”  First – you need the boundary of a box.  Second – you need to NOT be defined by that boundary.  In order to be creative, to think of new things in new ways, one has to have imagination.  Our family was a Disney World some years ago and I bought a book for my children.  It is The Imagineering Workout : Exercises to Shape your Create Muscles by the Disney Imagineers. It isn’t a workbook but a workout of doing and being and seeing.   This was an attempt on my part to help my creative kids keep being creative and thinking and growing.  I also enjoyed the book.  For me there was a companion book: The Imagineering Way: Ideas to Ignite Your Creativity by the Imagineers.  Where the first book was an interactive workbook, this book is the principles and the process they use to be creative.

There is so much in the world and news which can seem to overtake and overcome all that we values and that which holds and lifts us up.  I am not trying to simplify or minimize problems.  I am saying that if the sayings are true: do what you always have done and get what you always have gotten or the definition of insanity is doing what you always have done and expect different results – then we need to teach and be creative and think outside of the box.  We need to be able to try new things and even if we fail, we will be learning and seeing new ways of doing things.

One of the easiest ways to keep that “imagination” muscles alive and working is to look at the clouds.  The hardest part is to take the first step.  If we can “see” the clouds in new ways, it will be an easier step to “see” things at home and in the world in new ways.  Take some time to cloud watch.  Take some time to be creative.  Not only think outside the box but make new boxes.

2 Comments
  1. I recently had a dear friend die and while driving home I asked that she show me what heaven was like. I looked in the sky and there was a beautiful cloud heart. Heaven must be filled with love. She was an artist so I should have know she would still be creating in heaven.

    Like

  2. We receive messages in so many ways.

    Like

Leave a Reply

