Skip to content

What was that I heard?

June 8, 2015

DSC06443

I have lived next to fields.  Yes, I have heard corn grow.  There are many sounds that you can hear. Some make us afraid and some are reassuring and some can make us laugh once we understand where the sounds are coming from.  Sometimes it takes a while to realize what you are hearing or seeing.

In the story of Moses and the burning bush in the Bible, commentators say it took about 5 minutes or more for Moses to realize the bush was burning but not catching everything else on fire.  The Voice puts it this way : Moses looked again at the bush as it blazed; but to his amazement, the bush did not burn up in flames. Moses (to himself): Why is this bush not burning up? I need to move a little closer to get a better look at this amazing sight.

Many times we hear things. We investigate to see what it is that we are hearing.   We try to make sense of them.  Many times we assume what they are and don’t really turn aside and investigate. We can react in anger, frustration, fear or laughter.  To be mindful of where I am and what is going on around me is something I try very hard to do.  I don’t always succeed.  I want to share a time that it took me a while to figure out what was it that I heard.

My husband likes to fish.  When he comes in he usually cleans the fish right away.  If he leaves them in the sink it is only for a short while but he will tell me what he is doing.  The other day my husband went fishing.  He walked through my craft area to the kitchen and then walked out.  He didn’t say if he caught anything or if he left fish in the sink.

A few minutes later I heard a loud metallic sound.  I called out his name, but no one answered.  We had just gotten a new air conditioner and had just turned it on.  I thought something was coming apart in the basement or outside.  I investigated both and there was only silence.  I went back to work.  I heard this loud metallic sound again.  I thought our dog was having trouble in his cage.  I investigated and he was asleep on a chair.  I went back to work.  I heard this loud metallic sound again and called out my husband’s name.  Nothing.  Silence.  I checked to see if the raccoon was getting into the metal trash can which is bungeed.  Silence.  I went back to work.  I heard the sound again.  I was getting upset as I was afraid there was something seriously wrong in the house and I couldn’t detect it.  I stood in the middle of the other room waiting for the sound again.  When it happened I realized that it came from the sink.  My husband had caught fish but had gone outside to do a task and it was taking him longer than he thought.  He had brought the pop cans in for recycling and had put them on top of the fish in a bucket.  All I could see from where I stood was the cans in a container in the sink – thinking he had them there to rinse them before recycling.  Then I saw the cans move and rattle again. The fish were under the pop cans.   Everytime the fish flopped, it made a loud metallic sound.  What I had been so afraid of really turned out to be something we really laugh about.

Many times our fears are not grounded in fact.  We react to what we hear in a “fight or flight” mentality.  I had been afraid and had my time disrupted for something that wasn’t anything to fear.  Once I knew what the sound was I wasn’t afraid to hear it.  Though I did tell my husband that the next time I would like to know if there are fish in the sink.

What is it that you hear?  Do you take a deep breath and start to search to what is going on?  Do you bolt into a “flight” and “fear” and react accordingly? When I first heard the sounds,  I had thought that they were loud enough that I should get out of the house because something was terribly wrong.  The blessing is that my husband and I laugh about it.  Even as I saw what made the sound I could settle down and laugh at myself for being afraid.  Take time to see where your fears are coming from.  Take time to find out what is it that you hear.  When is it that you need to be afraid and do something quickly?  When is it that you need to not be afraid and relax?  Listen.  Understand. Explore. React appropriately.  To find where what the fear is, is to name it.  I have heard it said that naming our fears is a big step in dealing with them.

From → react, understand

One Comment
  1. That would have been a surprise! But you are so right. Are natures scampertohaveafit way too often. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

