Skip to content

How does your mind work?

May 12, 2015

DSC06160When your children were young they would play Mario on the Nintendo.  I would ask “Why are you jumping up?  I can see you get something, but what led you do to that in the first place?”  I could never play Mario well.  My children said all that I was good for was to die.  I love computers.  I know enough to really be a danger to the computer – both programing and hardware.  When our modem got fried from a lightning strike in the 90’s, I opened up the computer and put in a new one.

I noticed that my youth would only buy 1 song from an album on I-tunes.  When I was young, you had to buy the whole album if you liked one song.  You can see on my old records which songs I listened to the most because they were worn the most.  What happened as I listened to the album is that I found other songs and in the end my favorites were not the songs that drew me to the album.  When I started downloading from I-tunes, I noticed that I still was in the same mode – I would buy the whole album rather than just 1 song.

I think my mind works differently than my children – who are now adults.  I think my mind works different than children and youth of elementary, middle school and high school today.  I just don’t see the world in the same way they do.  I don’t approach a problem or learning in the same way.  I don’t think there is a right or wrong way to learn.  There are 7 multiple intelligences – ways of learning.  You can take a Myers-Briggs Personality Inventory.  I love the book “People Types and Tiger Stripes”.

When I was teaching, I tried hard to have as many different ways to learn something as I could.  I also tried that in teaching in the church.  It has helped me and broadened by horizon.  Yet I will default to my old ways.  I realize so do other people.  The problem is in this day and age of social media, we are actually becoming more isolated in that you can get the news, and other things from only your point of view and never get stretched to other ideas.  In truth, some of the other ideas do not stretch me but anger me and I just click them off.

What does it say of us as to our values, our worldview, our hopes, our dreams and our lives that our world is built along the lines of how we think and learn?  How do we share with our peers, other generations, others that share different theologies or theories?  I do not see that the Mohammad Cartoon drawing festival is free speech.  I see it as an attack or affront on someone’s sincere faith.  I do not believe that killing people is a way to get your point across.  How do we speak and act to each other in society when we learn differently, see the world differently and see different paths that we should take?

The little Yellow Finch in the photo has been trained that good food will be in the thistle feeder.   Regularly we fill the feeders.  Regularly many birds come.  It is a safe place for them yet if we move in the house by the window they will fly away in fear.  It is truly a “flight or fight” mentality.  There is much fighting and jostling on the bird feeders – not just with the birds but with 3 types of squirrels.  My prayer is that individuals can be a force of change for society in a way that draws people in rather than shoots at them or cuts them off.  Edwin Markham has a poem “Outwitted”.  This quote is from there: “He drew a circle that shut me out – Heretic, rebel, a thing to flout.  But love and I had the wit to win:  We drew a circle and took him In!”  Draw some big circles today!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

