Skip to content

Join the Journey of discovery of who you are

August 18, 2014

What Color Is Your Parachute? 2014: A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers is a book I had a long time ago. I see there is a new edition out. I may find my old book or I may wind up looking at the new one. I am not looking for a job or a new career so much as June 2014 saw me retire. My career change is from being actively employed to being actively retired. People ask “What does it feel like to be retired?” My response is that it feels like I am on vacation with too much stuff. Join me in the search for “What I want to be when I grow up.” This journey isn’t into retirement but much the same adventure that I always had in a new appointment. The focus of every day is how I enjoy living and enjoy life. In some ways as a United Methodist pastor retirement is like a new appointment. Each time you move you need to acclimate yourself to the new setting. You need to find out where to shop and who your doctors will be. You have to learn again who you are in this setting and what you need to be doing. This is like that but different. The guiding structure that I had for 35 years is gone. I am only in charge of me. It is a new thing to sit in a pew rather than being active up front and giving a sermon. I miss research and study but why do I do it if I am not preparing for a sermon? I have time to make cards but the reason I made them is not there so why am I doing it now? Questions are popping up and the adventure is in the questions even if the answers aren’t there for a while or don’t come at all. The parachute picture is a toy our granddaughter was having fun catching. It actually didn’t work each time. Sometimes it didn’t open and came crashing down. I know I won’t come crashing to the ground but I am not sure where the wind of change will take me. This time I get to choose where to worship- that hasn’t been true since before 1981. That can be scary and fun at the same time. My husband is with me on this adventure and we are having a great time together. So far so good. Where are you going? How are you letting God guide your day, your steps and your future?

small parachute

From → Uncategorized

One Comment

Leave a Reply

